Login

 


 
     
Limit to available items
Record:   Prev Next
book jacket
BOOK
Title Love in the big city : a novel / Sang Young Park ; translated from the Korean by Anton Hur
Imprint New York : Grove Press, 2021
©2021 [translation]

LIBRARY / MAP CALL NUMBER STATUS MESSAGE
 Stadsbibl:Ljusets kalender vån 2 Romaner på engelska  Roman engelska    DUE 23-04-25  ---
 Bunkeflo:Vuxen Romaner på engelska  Roman engelska    DUE 23-04-17  
 Lindängen:Vuxen Romaner på engelska  Roman engelska    DUE 23-04-04  
Edition First Grove Atlantic hardcover editition
Descript 234 pages 22 cm
Note "Originally published in Korea in 2019 as Daedosiui Sarangbeop by Changhi Publishers." -- Verso
"Love in the Big City is the English-language debut of Sang Young Park, one of Korea's most exciting young writers. A runaway bestseller, the novel hit the top five lists of all the major bookstores and went into nine printings. Love in the Big City is an energetic, joyful, and moving novel that depicts both the glittering nighttime world of Seoul and the bleary-eyed morning-after. Young is a cynical yet fun-loving Korean student who pinballs from home to class to the beds of recent Tinder matches. He and Jaehee, his female best friend and roommate, frequent nearby bars where they push away their anxieties about their love lives, families, and money with rounds of soju and ice-cold Marlboro Reds that they keep in their freezer. Yet over time, even Jaehee leaves Young to settle down, leaving him alone to care for his ailing mother and to find companionship in his relationships with a series of men, including one whose handsomeness is matched by his coldness, and another who might end up being the great love of his life. A brilliantly written novel filled with humor and emotion, Love in the Big City is an exploration of millennial loneliness as well as the joys of queer life, that should appeal to readers of Sayaka Murata, Han Kang, and Cho Nam-Joo"-- Provided by publisher
Subject Studenter
Homosexuella män
HBTQ-personer
College students -- Fiction
Gay men -- Fiction
Roommates -- Fiction
Korea
Seoul (Korea) -- Fiction
Romaner
Classmark 895.73/5
Heexk
Alt Auth Hur, Anton
Translation Daedosiui Sarangbeop. Engelska
ISBN/ISSN 9780802158789
9780802158796
Record:   Prev Next