Login

 


 
     
Limit to available items
Record:   Prev Next
book jacket
LARGE PRINT
Title The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit / Michael Finkel
Imprint Farmington Hills, Michigan : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2017

LIBRARY / MAP CALL NUMBER STATUS MESSAGE
 Stadsbibl:Ljusets kalender vån 2 Romaner på engelska  974 Knight engelska    DUE 24-03-04  ---
Edition Large print edition
Descript 283 pages (large print) : map ; 23 cm
Series Thorndike Press large print biographies and memoirs
Note Includes bibliographical references
"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description
Originalupplaga 2014. Första upplaga i denna version 2017
Subject Knight, Christopher Thomas, 1965-
Hermits -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
Recluses -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
Thieves -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
Survival -- Case studies
Solitude -- Case studies
Large type books
Smithfield Region (Me.) -- Biography
Biographies.
Eremiter
Tjuvar
Excentriker
Ensamhet
Överlevnad
Förenta staterna -- Maine
USA
Storstil
Biografi
Classmark 974.1/22092 B
ISBN/ISSN 9781410497482 (large print ; hardcover)
1410497488 (large print ; hardcover)
Record:   Prev Next